Contact
 

Webinar Announcement: Understanding Interactions between Female Sex Hormones, Hormonal Contraception and HIV Susceptibility in Women

The Development Alliance Coordinating Office (ACO) invites you to join their webinar on Understanding interactions between female sex hormones, hormonal contraception and HIV susceptibility in women" with Dr. Charu Kaushic. This webinar will provide participants with a better understanding of the research and controversy surrounding hormonal contraception and links to increased HIV susceptibility and transmission in women. The topics covered will include a review of the research field and controversy, the mechanisms that hormones can regulate susceptibility and immune responses, the effect of sex hormones and hormonal contraceptives on susceptibility, as well as some of the research gaps in these areas. The webinar will be of particular interest to trainees and researchers with an interest in hormonal contraception, HIV susceptibility and transmission, immune response to HIV and other STI and HIV vaccine development. All are welcome.

When: Thursday, February 12, 2015

Time: 1:00-2:00 pm EDT (12:00 – 1:00 pm CDT, 11:00 am – 12:00 pm MDT and 10:00 am – 11:00 am PDT)

Presenter: Dr. Charu Kaushic, Professor and OHTN Applied HIV Research Chair, McMaster University

Learning Objectives:

By the end of the webinar you will be able to:

  • Review the current controversy surrounding hormonal contraception and its link to increased HIV susceptibility and transmission risk in women.
  • Examine the evidence from clinical and experimental studies regarding effect of sex hormones and hormonal contraceptives on susceptibility to sexually transmitted viruses.
  • Gain understanding of some of the underlying mechanisms by which female sex hormones, estradiol and progesterone and hormonal contraceptives, can regulate susceptibility and immune responses to HIV and other STIs.
  • Identify some gaps in information and new research initiatives in these areas.

Contact aco-projects@icid.com to register for the webinar. 

Global HIV Vaccine Enterprise, 64 Beaver Street, # 352, New York, NY 10004 | +1 212-461-3692 or toll free at +1-866-966-4483
All Content ©2005 - 2013 Global HIV Vaccine Enterprise   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy   |   Log In / My Account